Brooks and Warner to be Awarded for Lifetime Achievement by World Fantasy Convention

The World Fantasy Convention is all set to honour Terry Brooks and Marina Warner with lifetime achievement awards at their annual ceremony in November.

World Fantasy Convention

The authors have been selected to receive the conventions most prestigious honour this year from what we know is great competition. Of course, we can’t know what the competition is as the committee themselves state:

Please note that the nominees in the Life Achievement category will not be released, though the winners will be announced well before the awards banquet.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to those people who have demonstrated outstanding service in the fantasy field. Few can argue that these authors deserve it!

(That’s Marina on the left and Terry on the right, in case you were wondering)

The Committee has also announced the nominees for the other categories to be awarded. The list of finalists is as follows:


Best Novel

Best Long Fiction (Originally Best Novella)

Best Short Fiction

  • “Das Steingeschöpf” – G.V. Anderson (Strange Horizons 12/12/16)
  • “Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies” – Brooke Bolander (Uncanny 11-12/16)
  • “Seasons of Glass and Iron” – Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)
  • “Little Widow” – Maria Dahvana Headley (Nightmare 9/16)
  • “The Fall Shall Further the Flight in Me”, Rachael K. Jones (Clockwork Phoenix 5)

Best Anthology

Best Collection


The other categories to be awarded are “Best Artist”, “Special Award, Professional” and “Special Award, Non-Professional”. You can see the full list of nominees on the World Fantasy Convention website here.

Share your Thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s