Locus Awards Announces 2017 Finalists

by Pete Richmond

The Locus Awards, awarded by the science fiction and fantasy magazine Locus, have recognised some of the biggest names in the business.


Past winners include Le Guin, Gaiman and Asimov, among a whole of other household names. The awards cover all the major categories with the standard speculative fiction award staples of Best Science Fiction Novel and Best Fantasy Novel the most prestigious, but also cover all aspects of SFF literature. An example of this is the most decorated winner of the whole Locus award history is Gardner Dozois, with an astounding 35 Locus Award wins, all of them in editing categories. Continue reading


Award for Disability Advocacy in SFF Launched

Twelfth Planet Press

by Pete Richmond

I’m very excited to bring you an awards announcement of a very different kind this time around.

A new award, the D Franklin Defying Doomsday Award is being launched.

Hosted by the folks over at Twelfth Planet Press, the award celebrates something very different than the normal “excellence” in the field.

Off the back of the wonderful anthology, Defying Doomsday, which supported positive story telling around people with disabilities, the award is to be a special award for disability advocacy in Science Fiction and Fantasy literature. Continue reading

Shirley Jackson Award Nominees Announced

Shirley Jackson Awards

by Pete Richmond

The Shirley Jackson Awards, to recognise outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic, have announced their nominees for the 2016 awards.


Founded in 2007, the awards are named in honour of Shirley Jackson, the author of numerous works such as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle. Continue reading

Arthur C Clarke Award Shortlist

Arthur C Clarke Award

By Pete Richmond

The highly prestigious Arthur C. Clarke award has just announced the shortlist for the 2017 award.

Founded in 1987, for the quality of previous winners there is no need to look further than the inaugural winner. Back in 1987, Margaret Attwood scooped the very first award with subsequent winners including China Miéville (three times), Pat Cadigan, and Geoff Ryman (twice). Zealot Script favourite, Stephen Baxter has been nominated no fewer than seven times and holds the unwanted record of the most nominations without a win! Continue reading