Locus Awards Announces 2017 Finalists


by Pete Richmond

The Locus Awards, awarded by the science fiction and fantasy magazine Locus, have recognised some of the biggest names in the business.


Past winners include Le Guin, Gaiman and Asimov, among a whole of other household names. The awards cover all the major categories with the standard speculative fiction award staples of Best Science Fiction Novel and Best Fantasy Novel the most prestigious, but also cover all aspects of SFF literature. An example of this is the most decorated winner of the whole Locus award history is Gardner Dozois, with an astounding 35 Locus Award wins, all of them in editing categories.

The finalists are chosen by an online poll, and the results of the main categories can be seen below:


Science Fiction Novel


Fantasy Novel


Horror Novel


The full list of categories for the Locus Awards also includes awards for:

First Novel
Young Adult Book
Short Story
Art Book

The Award Winners will be announced during the Locus Awards Weekend in Seattle in June.

You can find the full listings of finalists on the Locus Awards website, here.

Share your Thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s