Miller and Newitz take Campbell Award Honours

The Campbell Conference Awards Banquet, at the University of Kansas in Lawrence KS, was the forum for the announcement of two award winners. The John W. Campbell Memorial Award for the best Science Fiction novel published in 2018 and the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the best short fiction of 2018.

Unlike most of the major awards, this is a purely Jury-driven award, and so has a reputation for putting quality above popularity. Although the two do normally go hand-in-hand.

This year’s jury consisted of the following jurors:

Gregory Benford
Sheila Finch
Elizabeth Anne Hull
Paul Kincaid since 2008
Christopher McKitterick since 2002 (Chair beginning in 2018)
Pamela Sargent since 1997
Lisa Yaszek since 2016

The winners selected by the jury are Blackfish City by Sam J. Miller for the John W. Campbell Memorial award, and “When Robot and Crow Saved East St. Louis” by Annalee Newitz for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award.

The full list of nominees for both awards can be seen below.

John W. Campbell Memorial Award

Winner: Blackfish City – Sam J. Miller (Ecco)

Semiosis – Sue Burke (Tor)
A Spy in Time – Imraan Coovadia (Rare Bird)
The Calculating Stars – Mary Robinette Kowal (Tor)
Time Was – Ian McDonald ( Publishing)
Moon of the Crusted Snow – Waubgeshig Rice (ECW)
Theory of Bastards – Audrey Schulman (Europa Editions)
Unholy Land – Lavie Tidhar (Tachyon)
Space Opera – Catherynne M. Valente (Saga)
The Freeze-Frame Revolution – Peter Watts (Tachyon)
The Loosening Skin – Aliya Whiteley (Unsung Stories)

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

Winner:When Robot and Crow Saved East St. Louis” – Annalee Newitz ( 12/18)

“Freezing Rain, A Chance of Falling” – L.X. Beckett (F&SF 7-8/18)
The Only Harmless Great Thing – Brooke Bolander ( Publishing)
“The Secret Lives of the Nine Negro Teeth of George Washington” – Phenderson Djèlí Clark (Fireside 2/18)
“Umbernight” – Carolyn Ives Gilman (Clarkesworld 2/18)
“Nine Last Days on Planet Earth” – Daryl Gregory ( 9/19/18)
“When We Were Starless” – Simone Heller (Clarkesworld 10/18)
“The Starship and the Temple Cat” – Yoon Ha Lee (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 2/1/18)
Gods, Monsters, and the Lucky Peach – Kelly Robson ( Publishing)
“On the Day You Spend Forever with Your Dog” – Adam Shannon (Apex 12/18)
“Yard Dog” – Tade Thompson (Fiyah Summer ’18)

Share your Thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s