The British Fantasy Society Have Announced The 2019 British Fantasy Award Shortlists

Following two rounds of nomination and voting from the members of the British Fantasy Society and FantasyCon, The British Fantasy Awards has announced the shortlist for each of the Award categories.

The shortlisted entries are now entered for consideration by the appointed juries for each category. A full list of the jurors can be seen on the BFS website here.

The full list of shortlisted nominees can be seen below:

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

The Bitter Twins – Jen Williams (Headline)
Empire of Sand – Tasha Suri (Orbit)
Foundryside – Robert Jackson Bennett (Jo Fletcher Books)
The Green Man’s Heir – Juliet E McKenna (Wizard’s Tower Press)
The Loosening Skin – Aliya Whiteley (Unsung Stories)
Priest of Bones – Peter McLean (Jo Fletcher Books)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

The Cabin at the End of the World – Paul Tremblay (Titan Books)
Little Eve – Catriona Ward (W&N)
The Way of the Worm – Ramsey Campbell (PS Publishing)
Wolf’s Hill – Simon Bestwick (Snowbooks)

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J Bounds Award)

Tomi Adeyemi – The Children of Blood and Bone (Macmillan Children’s Books)
Cameron Johnston – The Traitor God (Angry Robot)
RF Kuang – The Poppy War (HarperVoyager)
Tasha Suri – Empire of Sand (Orbit)
Marian Womack – Lost Objects (Luna Press Publishing)
Micah Yongo – Lost Gods (Angry Robot)

Best Novella

Binti: The Night Masquerade – Nnedi Okorafor (
Breakwater – Simon Bestwick (Tor Books)
The Land of Somewhere Safe – Hal Duncan (NewCon Press)
The Last Temptation of Dr Valentine – John Llewellyn Probert (Black Shuck Books)
The Only Harmless Great Thing – Brooke Bolander (
The Tea Master and the Detective – Aliette de Bodard (Subterranean Press)

Best Short Fiction

Down Where Sound Comes Blunt – GV Anderson (F&SF March/April 2018)
Her Blood the Apples, Her Bones the Trees – Georgina Bruce (The Silent Garden: A Journal of Esoteric Fabulism)
In the Gallery of Silent Screams – Carole Johnstone & Chris Kelso (Black Static #65)
A Son of the Sea – Priya Sharma (All the Fabulous Beasts)
Telling Stories – Ruth EJ Booth (The Dark #43)
Thumbsucker – Robert Shearman (New Fears 2)

Best Anthology

The Devil and the Deep: Horror Stories of the Sea – Ed. Ellen Datlow (Night Shade Books)
Humanagerie – Ed. Sarah Doyle & Allen Ashley (Eibonvale Press)
New Fears 2 – Ed. Mark Morris (Titan Books)
This Dreaming Isle – Ed. Dan Coxon (Unsung Stories)
Year’s Best Weird Fiction, Vol. 5 – Ed. Robert Shearman & Michael Kelly (Undertow Publications)

Best Collection

All the Fabulous Beasts – Priya Sharma (Undertow Publications)
The Future is Blue – Catherynne M Valente (Subterranean Press)
How Long ‘til Black Future Month? – NK Jemisin (Orbit)
Lost Objects – Marian Womack (Luna Press Publishing)
Octoberland – Thana Niveau (PS Publishing)
Resonance & Revolt – Rosanne Rabinowitz (Eibonvale Press)

Best Non-Fiction

The Evolution of African Fantasy and Science Fiction – Ed. Francesca T Barbini (Luna Press Publishing)
The Full Lid – Alasdair Stuart (
Ginger Nuts of Horror (
Les Vampires – Tim Major (PS Publishing)
Noise and Sparks – Ruth EJ Booth (Shoreline of Infinity)

Best Independent Press

Fox Spirit Books
Luna Press Publishing
NewCon Press
Unsung Stories

Best Magazine / Periodical

Black Static
Ginger Nuts of Horror 
Shoreline of Infinity
Uncanny Magazine

Best Audio

Bedtime Stories for the End of the World (
Blood on Satan’s Claw – Mark Morris (Bafflegab)
Breaking the Glass Slipper (
PodCastle (
PsuedoPod (

Best Comic / Graphic Novel

100 Demon Dialogues – Lucy Bellwood (Toonhound Studios)
B.P.R.D. Hell on Earth, Vol. 1 – Mike Mignola, John Arcudi, Guy Davis, Tyler Crook & Dave Stewart (Dark Horse)
Hellboy: The Complete Short Stories, Vol. 1 – Mike Mignola and others (Dark Horse)
The Prisoner – Robert S Malan & John Cockshaw (Luna Press Publishing)
Saga #49-54 – Brian K Vaughan & Fiona Staples (Image Comics)
Widdershins, Vol. 7 – Kate Ashwin

Best Artist

Vince Haig
David Rix
Daniele Serra
Sophie E Tallis

Best Film / Television Production

Annihilation – Alex Garland
Avengers: Infinity War – Christopher Markus & Stephen McFeely 
Black Panther – Ryan Coogler & Joe Robert Cole
The Haunting of Hill House – Mike Flanagan
Inside No. 9, series 4 – Steve Pemberton & Reece Shearsmith
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse – Phil Lord & Rodney Rothman

Share your Thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s