Drastic Measures Take Ward to Top Spot

The International Association of Media Tie-in Writers, an mouthful made no easier to pronounce by their commonly known acronym IAMTW, have announced the winners for the 2019 Scribe Awards. The awards honour excellence in licensed tie-in writing, and this year’s nominees wrote in such familiar universes as Star Trek, Star Wars and Doctor Who.

The top award, for Original Novel (rather than novelisation) went to Dayton Ward for Star Trek Discovery: Drastic Measures.

The full list of winners and nominees can be seen below:

Original Novel — Speculative

Winner: Star Trek Discovery: Drastic Measures – Dayton Ward (Pocket)

Halo: Silent Storm – Troy Denning (Gallery)
World of Warcraft: Before the Storm – Christie Golden (Del Rey)
Star Trek Discovery: Fear Itself – James Swallow (Pocket)
Alien: The Cold Forge – Alex White (Titan)

Adapted Novel

Winner: The Shape of Water – Guillermo del Toro & Daniel Kraus (Feiwel & Friends)

The Predator – Christopher Golden & Mark Morris (Titan)
Solo: A Star Wars Story – Mur Lafferty (Century)
Halloween – John Passarella (Titan)

Audio Drama

Winner: “The Calendar Man” – AK Benedict (The Eleventh Doctor Chronicles)

“The Invention of Death” – John Dorney (The First Doctor Adventures, Volume Two)
Doctor Who: The War Master: The Master of Callous – James Goss & Guy Adams (Big Finish)
“The Girl Beneath the Water” – Lila Whelan (Dark Shadows: Maggie & Quentin: The Lovers’ Refrain)
Blake’s 7: The Way Ahead – Mark Wright (Big Finish)

Young Adult / Middle Grade

Winner: Besphinxed – Alethea Kontis (self-published)

Star Wars: The Last Jedi – Michael Kogge (Disney Lucasfilm)
The Lucy Wilson Mysteries: Curse of the Mirror Clowns – Chris Lynch (Candy Jar)
Broken Lands – Jonathan Maberry (Simon & Schuster BFYR)
Star Wars: The Last Jedi Movie Storybook – Elizabeth Schaefer (Disney Lucasfilm)
Smallfoot – Tracey West (Simon Spotlight)

Short Story

Winner: “The Darkling Hours” – Rachel Harrison (Black Library Events Anthology 2018/19)

The Passing of Angels – John French (Black Library)
“Swords of Light and Darkness” – Travis Heermann (BattleTech: Legacy)
“No Hero”, Peter McLean (Inferno! Volume 1)
“End of the Road” – Craig A. Reed, Jr. (BattleTech: Legacy)

Share your Thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s