Conjure Wife Conjures Award 76 Years Later

Alongside the annual pinnacle of the award season that are The Hugo Awards, is the lesser known Retrospective Hugo Award ceremony.

Created to honour those works in years past in which there were no Hugo Awards awarded, the Retrospective Hugos (which really should be called the Retgos) were this year the 1944 awards, for those works published in 1943.

The top prize for Best Novel was this year, or in 1944 if you want to get into the spirit of it, awarded to Conjure Wife by Fritz Leiber, Jr.

The full list of Awards, Winners and Nominees can be seen below:

Best Novel

Winner: Conjure Wife – Fritz Leiber, Jr. (Unknown Worlds, April 1943)

Earth’s Last Citadel – C.L. Moore and Henry Kuttner (Argosy, April 1943)
Gather, Darkness! – Fritz Leiber, Jr. (Astounding Science-Fiction, May-July 1943)
Das Glasperlenspiel [The Glass Bead Game] – Hermann Hesse (Fretz & Wasmuth)
Perelandra – C.S. Lewis (John Lane, The Bodley Head)
The Weapon Makers – A.E. van Vogt (Astounding Science-Fiction, February-April 1943)

Best Novella

Winner: The Little Prince – Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (Reynal & Hitchcock)

“Attitude” – Hal Clement (Astounding Science-Fiction, September 1943)
“Clash by Night” – Lawrence O’Donnell (Henry Kuttner & C.L. Moore) (Astounding Science-Fiction, March 1943)
“The Dream-Quest of Unknown Kadath” – H.P. Lovecraft, (Beyond the Wall of Sleep, Arkham House)
The Magic Bed-Knob; or, How to Become a Witch in Ten Easy Lessons – Mary Norton (Hyperion Press)
“We Print the Truth” – Anthony Boucher (Astounding Science-Fiction, December 1943)

Best Novelette

Winner: “Mimsy Were the Borogoves” – Lewis Padgett (C.L. Moore & Henry Kuttner) (Astounding Science-Fiction, February 1943)

“Citadel of Lost Ships” – Leigh Brackett (Planet Stories, March 1943)
“The Halfling” – Leigh Brackett (Astonishing Stories, February 1943)
“The Proud Robot” – Lewis Padgett (Henry Kuttner) (Astounding Science-Fiction, October 1943)
“Symbiotica” – Eric Frank Russell (Astounding Science-Fiction, October 1943)
“Thieves’ House” – Fritz Leiber, Jr (Unknown Worlds, February 1943)

Best Short Story

Winner: “King of the Gray Spaces” (“R is for Rocket”) – Ray Bradbury (Famous Fantastic Mysteries, December 1943)

“Death Sentence” – Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science Fiction, November 1943)
“Doorway into Time” – C.L. Moore (Famous Fantastic Mysteries, September 1943)
“Exile” – Edmond Hamilton (Super Science Stories, May 1943)
“Q.U.R.” – H.H. Holmes (Anthony Boucher) (Astounding Science-Fiction, March 1943)
“Yours Truly – Jack the Ripper” – Robert Bloch (Weird Tales, July 1943)

Best Graphic Story

Winner: Wonder Woman #5: Battle for Womanhood – written by William Moulton Marsden, art by Harry G. Peter (DC Comics)

Buck Rogers: Martians Invade Jupiter – Philip Nowlan and Dick Calkins (National Newspaper Service)
Flash Gordon: Fiery Desert of Mongo – Alex Raymond (King Features Syndicate)
Garth – Steve Dowling (Daily Mirror)
Plastic Man #1: The Game of Death – Jack Cole (Vital Publications)
Le Secret de la Licorne [The Secret of the Unicorn] – Hergé (Le Soir)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Winner: Heaven Can Wait – written by Samson Raphaelson, directed by Ernst Lubitsch (20th Century Fox)

Batman – written by Victor McLeod, Leslie Swabacker and Harry L. Fraser, directed by Lambert Hillyer (Columbia Pictures)
Cabin in the Sky – written by Joseph Schrank, directed by Vincente Minnelli and Busby Berkeley (uncredited) (MGM)
A Guy Named Joe – written by Frederick Hazlitt Brennan and Dalton Trumbo, directed by Victor Fleming (MGM)
Münchhausen – written by Erich Kästner and Rudolph Erich Raspe, directed by Josef von Báky (UFA)
Phantom of the Opera – written by Eric Taylor, Samuel Hoffenstein and Hans Jacoby, directed by Arthur Lubin (Universal Pictures)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Winner: Frankenstein Meets the Wolfman – written by Curt Siodmak, directed by Roy William Neill (Universal Pictures)

The Ape Man – written by Barney A. Sarecky, directed by William Beaudine (Banner Productions)
Der Fuehrer’s Face – story by Joe Grant and Dick Huemer, directed by Jack Kinney (Disney)
I Walked With a Zombie – written by Curt Siodmak and Ardel Wray, directed by Jacques Tourneur (RKO Radio Pictures)
The Seventh Victim – written by Charles O’Neal and DeWitt Bodeen, directed by Mark Robson (RKO Radio Pictures)
Super-Rabbit – written by Tedd Pierce, directed by Charles M. Jones (Warner Bros)

Best Editor, Short Form

Winner: John W. Campbell

Oscar J. Friend
Mary Gnaedinger
Dorothy McIlwraith
Raymond A. Palmer
Donald A. Wollheim

Best Professional Artist

Winner: Virgil Finlay

Hannes Bok
Margaret Brundage
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
J. Allen St. John
William Timmins

Best Fanzine

Winner: Le Zombie – editor Wilson “Bob” Tucker

Fantasy News – editor William S. Sykora (striken from ballot July 21)
Futurian War Digest – editor J. Michael Rosenblum
Guteto – editor Morojo (Myrtle R. Douglas) (added to ballot July 21)
The Phantagraph – editor Donald A. Wollheim
Voice of the Imagi-Nation – editors Jack Erman (Forrest J Ackerman) & Morojo (Myrtle Douglas)
YHOS – editor Art Widner

Share your Thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s