Shirley Jackson Award Nominees Announced

Shirley Jackson Awards


by Pete Richmond

The Shirley Jackson Awards, to recognise outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic, have announced their nominees for the 2016 awards.


Founded in 2007, the awards are named in honour of Shirley Jackson, the author of numerous works such as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle.

The awards cover all lengths of horror works and the final selections are now before the Jury for the 2016 awards to be chosen.

Check out the list of works below:Wasserberg, Eleanor - Foxlowe



LaValle, Victor - The Ballad of Black TomNovella


Other categories cover short stories and anthologies and the full category listing as includes awards for:


Short Fiction

Single-Author Collection

Edited Anthology

You can read up on the previous winners and further information on the Shirley Jackson Award website, which can be found here.

Share your Thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s