Canadian Author Shines Brightly in Sunburst Award Win

Last month, we brought you the full shortlist for the Sunburst Awards, one of the premier awards in Canadian Speculative Fiction.

Well, the wait is finally over and we can bring you the winners!

The Short Story Award went to AC Wise for her work The Sailing of the Henry Charles Morgan in Six Pieces of Scrimshaw (1841), initially published in The Dark.

The Dark - Issue 14

The jury described the work as “eerie, subtle, and highly visual, with pleasurably chilling overtones of Lovecraft’s Innsmouth abominations.”

The author, AC Wise, is a Montreal native, but has moved south of the border and is currently living in Philadelphia. You can find out more about her on her website.

The second prize on the night was the 2017 winner of the Sunburst Award for Young Adult Fiction. The winner of this award is Sophie Quire and the Last Storyguard by Jonathan Auxier.

Auxier, Jonathan - Sophie Quire and the Last Storyguard

The jury described Auxier’s work as a “surprisingly complex take on age-old themes” that includes “intrepid heroes, vivid villains, and an array of fantasy characters”. Before you rush to pick up a copy of this one, it is the second in the Peter Nimble series so make sure that you don’t miss out on his first, Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes.

Jonathan is already an award winner for his debut novel, the above-mentioned first in the series. Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes was an ABA New Voices pick and a BookPage Magazine Best Book of 2011. His other novel, The Night Gardener, which is not in the Peter Nimble series, won the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award and the Canadian Library Association Book of the Year for Children Award, and was shortlisted for the Sunburst Award and the Governor General’s Award.

Auxier is undoubtedly a rising talent in the field, and not just in the Canadian scene. His is a name that we can expect to see for many years to come!

This brings us to the main event, the 2017 Sunburst Award for Adult Fiction.

This year’s winner is Claire Humprhey for debut novel, Spells of Blood and Kin.

Humphrey, Claire - Spells of Blood and Kin

A canadian novel to it’s core, Spells of Blood and Kin takes place in Toronto and tells the story of Lissa Nevsky who explores her newly inherited magical gifts from her deceased grandmother.

The Jury describes the works as “a fresh take on magic, exploring the gifts it can bestow and the price it exacts” as well as commending Humphrey for her “use of a real, contemporary Canadian setting and her refusal to allow her characters any easy victories”.

Three well deserved winners!

Share your Thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s