2018 Bram Stoker Awards Final Ballot

Named in honor of the author of the seminal horror novel Dracula, the Bram Stoker Awards are presented annually for superior achievement in writing in eleven categories, including traditional works of various lengths, poetry, screenplays, and non-fiction. Previous winners include Stephen King, J.K. Rowling, George R. R. Martin, Joyce Carol Oates, and Neil Gaiman. The HWA is a nonprofit organization of writers and publishing professionals around the world, dedicated to promoting dark literature and the interests of those who write it. The HWA formed in 1985 with the help of many of the field’s greats, including Dean Koontz, Robert McCammon, and Joe R. Lansdale. The HWA is home to the prestigious Bram Stoker Award and the annual StokerCon horror convention.

“This year’s nominees demonstrate a continued lineup of quality work in the horror genre. Our members and awards juries have again chosen truly outstanding works of literature, cinema, non-fiction, and poetry.”

Lisa Morton, HWA President

Below is the list of nominees who reached the final ballot below for each category.

Superior Achievement in a Novel

The Hunger – Alma Katsu (Putnam)
Glimpse – Jonathan Maberry (St. Martin’s)
Unbury Carol – Josh Malerman (Del Rey)
Dracul – Dacre Stoker & J.D. Barker (Putnam)
The Cabin at the End of the World – Paul Tremblay (Morrow)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

What Should Be Wild – Julia Fine (Harper)
I Am the River – T.E. Grau (Lethe)
The Rust Maidens – Gwendolyn Kiste (Trepidatio)
Baby Teeth – Zoje Stage (St. Martin’s)
The Moore House – Tony Tremblay (Twisted)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

Dread Nation – Justina Ireland (Balzer + Bray)
Sawkill Girls – Claire Legrand (Katherine Tegen)
Broken Lands – Jonathan Maberry (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)
The Night Weaver – Monique Snyman (Gigi)
The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein – Kiersten White (Delacorte)

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

Our Children, Our Teachers – Michael Bailey (Written Backwards)
“You Are Released” – Joe Hill (Flight or Fright)
“Dead Lovers on Each Blade, Hung” – Usman T. Malik (Nightmare 11/18)
“The Devil’s Throat” – Rena Mason (Hellhole)
Bitter Suites – Angela Yuriko Smith (self-published)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

“Mutter” – Jess Landry (Fantastic Tales of Terror)
“Dead End Town” – Lee Murray (Cthulhu Deep Down Under: Volume 2)
“Glove Box” – Annie Neugebauer (The Dark City Crime & Mystery Magazine 7/18)
“A Winter’s Tale” – John F.D. Taff (Little Black Spots)
“And in Her Eyes the City Drowned” – Kyla Lee Ward (Weirdbook 5/18)

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

Spectral Evidence – Gemma Files (Trepidatio)
That Which Grows Wild – Eric J. Guignard (Cemetery Dance)
Coyote Songs – Gabino Iglesias (Broken River)
Garden of Eldritch Delights – Lucy A. Snyder (Raw Dog Screaming)
Dark and Distant Voices – Tim Waggoner (Nightscape)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

A New York State of Fright – James Chambers, April Grey & Robert Masterson, eds. (Hippocampus)
The Devil and the Deep – Ellen Datlow, ed. (Night Shade)
A World of Horror – Eric J. Guignard, ed. (Dark Moon)
Hellhole – Lee Murray, ed. (Adrenaline)
Lost Highways – D. Alexander Ward, ed. (Crystal Lake)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

Horror Express – John Connolly (PS)
The Howling: Studies in the Horror Film – Lee Gambin (Centipede)
We Don’t Go Back: A Watcher’s Guide to Folk Horror – Howard David Ingham (Room 207)
It’s Alive: Bringing Your Nightmares to Life – Joe Mynhardt & Eugene Johnson, eds. (Crystal Lake)
Uncovering Stranger Things: Essays on Eighties Nostalgia, Cynicism and Innocence in the Series – Kevin J. Wetmore Jr., ed. (McFarland)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

Artifacts – Bruce Boston (Independent Legions)
Bleeding Saffron – David E. Cowen (Weasel)
Witches – Donna Lynch (Raw Dog Screaming)
War – Marge Simon & Alessandro Manzetti (Crystal Lake)
The Devil’s Dreamland – Sara Tantlinger (Strangehouse)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

Abbott – Saladin Ahmed, Sami Kivela & Jason Wordie (BOOM!)
Moonshine Vol. 2: Misery Train – Brian Azzarello & Eduardo Risso (Image)
Bone Parish – Cullen Bunn (BOOM!)
Victor LaValle’s Destroyer – Victor LaValle, Dietrich Smith & Joana Lafuente (BOOM!)
Monstress Volume 3: Haven – Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda (Image)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

Bird Box
The Haunting of Hill House: “The Bent-Neck Lady”
A Quiet Place

Winners will be honored at a gala during StokerCon 2019, to be held May 9-12, 2019 at the Amway Grand Plaza Hotel in Grand Rapids MI. For more information, see the Stoker Awards website.

Share your Thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s